Texas Animal Health Commission



Summary of TAHC Movement Requirements for Exhibition & Event Animals

Important:

- This is an unofficial summary of TAHC movement requirements as of November 3, 2020. Visit Title 4, Texas Administrative Code, Part 2 for official requirements, https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac\$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=4&pt=2.
- Please call the TAHC at 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 to determine whether amendments or additional regulations have been adopted since the publication of this document.
- Check in advance with fairs, livestock shows, exhibitions, rodeos and events to determine if they have <u>additional</u> health requirements.



Definitions

Interstate Event: The TAHC considers shows, fairs, rodeos, events or exhibitions to be interstate if they permit livestock and poultry from other states to enter for show or exhibition and be held or exhibited in common facilities with Texas origin livestock and poultry of the same species.

Intrastate Event: The TAHC considers shows, fairs, rodeos, events or exhibitions to be intrastate if they ONLY allow Texas animals to enter or if they require Texas livestock and poultry of the same species to be housed and exhibited separately from livestock and poultry from out of state.

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): CVIs are commonly referred to as "health certificates". This document indicates that an accredited veterinarian inspected, tested or immunized the animals in question as required by the TAHC.

- Cattle, sheep, goats, equine, swine, exotic livestock and ratites coming into the state or entered in an interstate show must be accompanied by a CVI.
- Poultry may enter into the state or into livestock shows with a CVI inspection or with other documents as described on the "Poultry" page.
- The certificate is valid for 30 days for all species being exhibited, or exhibited and sold.

Entry Permit: This permit is issued by the TAHC and is needed for certain livestock, poultry, exotic livestock and ratites to enter Texas. The permit is valid for 15 days. The entry permit number must be recorded on the CVI. To obtain an entry permit call the TAHC at 512-719-0777, or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777, or email <u>permits@tahc.texas.gov</u>.



Cattle

	Interstate Event	Intrastate Event
	(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	(ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless noted, all cattle must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext.	 Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not required by the TAHC. Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.
	 777 for CVI requirements. a. <u>Note</u>: All cattle coming from a vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) affected state must have a CVI issued within 14 days prior to entry and a VSV status for the premises or area should be recorded on the CVI. 	 3. Official Identification: a. All dairy breed animals, including steers and spayed heifers, must be <u>officially</u> <u>identified</u>. b. All breeding bulls 12 months of age or older must be <u>officially identified</u>.
2.	Entry Permit: Certain classes of cattle are required to obtain entry permits, please refer to the sections below for guidance. Permits for cattle may be obtained at any time by calling 512-719-0777, or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777, or by	c. Within 7 days of change of ownership cattle parturient, postparturient, or 18 months of age or older must be <u>officially</u> <u>identified</u> .
	emailing the TAHC at <u>permits@tahc.texas.gov</u> .	4. Testing Requirements:
		a. Trichomoniasis (Trich) Test:
3.	Official Identification: All cattle of any age used for rodeo, recreational events, shows, or exhibition must be <u>officially identified</u> for interstate movement regardless of age or breed (<u>9 CFR §86.4(D)(iii)</u>).	 i. <u>Exhibition ONLY</u>: Not required by the TAHC. iv. <u>Sale of Exhibition Animals</u>: Unless excepted, non-virgin bulls and virgin bulls 12 months of age or older must be Trich tested within 60 days prior to sale.
4	Testing Requirements:	Exception: Breed registered bulls
	 a. Trichomoniasis (Trich) Test: i. <u>Exhibition ONLY:</u> All breeding bulls 12 	can be certified as virgin (up to 18 months of age).
	months of age or older must be tested	
	within 60 days or be accompanied by an	b. Tuberculosis (TB) Test:
	entry permit. ii. <u>Sale of Exhibition Animals:</u> All breeding	i. Beef Cattle: Not required by the TAHC.ii. Dairy Cattle: Not required by the TAHC.
	bulls 12 months of age or older must be	iii. "M" Branded Steers: All "M" branded
	Trich tested within 60 days prior to sale.	steers, (recognized as potential rodeo and/or roping stock) must have proof of
	b. Tuberculosis (TB) Test:	a negative tuberculosis test within 12
	i. Beef Cattle: Not required by the TAHC.	months prior to the event.
	ii. Dairy Cattle: Texas origin dairy cattle are	
	not required to have a TB test for interstate exhibition or events.	c. Brucellosis Test: Not required by the TAHC.



Interstate Event	Intrastate Event
(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	(ONLY Texas Animals)
 Unless excepted, out-of-state sexually intact dairy cattle, 2 months of age or older, must have a negative TB test within 60 days prior to entry or originate from an accredited free herd. Test results or an accredited herd number must be recorded on the CVI. Exception: Dairy and beef cattle coming from a state with less than <i>"Free"</i> or <i>"Free Zone"</i> status must contact the TAHC at 1-800-550-8242 ext. 777, prior to movement. 	<i>Cattle intrastate event requirements are listed on page 3.</i>
 iii. "M" Branded Steers: All "M" branded steers (recognized as potential rodeo and/or roping stock) must test negative for TB within 12 months prior to an event. Note: "M" branded steers from outof-state must also obtain an entry permit prior to entry. 	
 c. Brucellosis Test: Unless excepted, cattle are not required to be tested for interstate exhibition or events. i. Exception: Cattle from designated surveillance areas in Idaho, Montana, or Wyoming are required to meet testing requirements. 	



Equine

	Interstate Event	Intrastate Event
	(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	(ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	 Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless noted, all equine must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements. a. <u>Note</u>: All equine coming from a vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) affected state must have a CVI issued within 14 days prior to entry and a VSV status for the premises or 	 Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless excepted, CVIs are not required by the TAHC. <u>Exception</u>: Equine attending a parimutuel racetrack are required to have a CVI. Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC. Testing Requirements:
	area should be recorded on the CVI.	a. Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) Test:
2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.	Unless excepted, all Texas equine must have a negative EIA test within the past 12 months.
3.	Testing Requirements:	i. <u>Exception</u> : If a mare is presented
	 a. Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) Test: Unless excepted, all equine must have a negative EIA test within the past 12 months. i. Exception: If a mare is presented alongside a nursing foal under 8 months of age, a negative test for the mare is sufficient. ii. Exception: An equine passport document allows equine to travel on a 6- month passport (example of documents to follow). An EIA test document issued within the past 6 months must accompany the passport. 	 alongside a nursing foal under 8 months of age, a negative test for the mare is sufficient. b. Piroplasmosis (Piro) Test: Unless excepted, equine entering a racetrack facility must have a valid negative Piro test (<i>Theileria equi</i>) within the previous 12 months. i. <u>Exception</u>: A Piro test is not required for thoroughbred horses participating at a parimutuel racetrack facility.
	 b. Piroplasmosis (Piro) Test: Unless excepted, equine entering a racetrack facility must have a valid negative Piro test (<i>Theileria equi</i>) within the previous 12 months. i. <u>Exception</u>: A Piro test is not required for thoroughbred horses participating at a parimutuel racetrack facility. 	



Sheep

	Interstate Event (Out-of-State & Texas Animals)		Intrastate Event (ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless noted, all sheep must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should	1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not required by the TAHC.
	contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements.	2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.
	a. <u>Note:</u> All sheep coming from a vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) affected state must have a CVI issued within 14 days prior to entry and a VSV status for the premises or area should be recorded on the CVI.	3.	Official Identification: Unless excepted, the following classes of sheep must be <u>officially</u> <u>identified</u> before movement from the farm for intrastate or interstate commerce, exhibition, or to be commingled with animals from other farms.
2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.		a. All sheep 18 months of age or older, b. All breeding sheep regardless of age,
3.	Official Identification: All sheep are required to be <u>officially identified</u> .		 c. Sexually intact show or exhibition sheep. i. <u>Exception</u>: Sheep that have a <u>premises</u> identification number, a registration
4.	Testing Requirements: a. <i>Brucella ovis</i> Test: Unless excepted, breeding rams 6 months of age or over are		tattoo, and accompanied by registration papers.
	required to have a negative ELISA test for	4	Testing Requirements:
	Brucella ovis within 30 days of the event or		a. Brucella ovis Test: Not required by the TAHC.
	from a <i>brucella ovis</i> free flock. The test results or herd number must be written on the CVI.		IANC.
	i. <u>Exception:</u> Breeding rams originating in Texas are exempt from the <i>Bucella ovis</i>		
	Test requirement if they are held separate from out-of-state sheep.		



Goats

	Interstate Event (Out-of-State & Texas Animals)		Intrastate Event (ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless noted, all goats must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should	1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not required by the TAHC.
	contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements.	2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.
	a. <u>Note:</u> All goats coming from a vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) affected state must have a CVI issued within 14 days prior to entry and a VSV status for the premises or area should be recorded on the CVI.	3.	Official Identification: Unless excepted, the following classes of goats must be <u>officially</u> <u>identified</u> before they are moved from the farm for intrastate or interstate commerce, exhibition, or to be commingled with animals from other farms.
2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.		a. All breeding goats that have not commingled with sheep, or
3.	 Official Identification: Unless excepted, all goats are required to be <u>officially identified</u>. a. <u>Exception</u>: Registered goats that have a <u>premises identification number</u>, a registration tattoo, and accompanied by registration papers. 		 b. Sexually intact show or exhibition goats. c. <u>Exceptions:</u> Wethers or commercial goats that have not had contact with sheep; or Goats that have a registration tattoo and are accompanied by registration papers.
4.	Testing Requirements: Not required by the TAHC.	4.	Testing Requirements: Not required by the TAHC.



Swine

	Interstate Event	Intrastate Event
	(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	(ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Unless noted, all swine must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should	1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not required by the TAHC.
	contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements.	2. Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.
	a. <u>Note</u> : All porcine coming from a vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) affected state must have a CVI issued within 14 days prior to entry and a VSV status for the premises or area should be recorded on the CVI.	 Official Identification: Unless excepted, swine are not required to be <u>officially</u> <u>identified</u> <u>Exception</u>: Breeding swine (sexually intact swine, 6 months of age or older)
2.	Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.	changing ownership must be <u>officially</u> identified.
3.	Official Identification: All swine must be officially identified.	 Testing Requirements: a. Brucellosis Test: Unless excepted, swine are not required to be tested.
4.	 Testing Requirements: a. Brucellosis Test: Unless noted or excepted, breeding swine (sexually intact swine, 6 months of age or older) must have a negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry or the event. i. Exception: Swine originating from a Brucellosis validated herd or validated Brucellosis free state. ii. Note: Breeding swine being sold within the state of Texas must have a negative test. 	 b. Pseudorabies Tests: Unless excepted, swine are not required to be tested. c. Exception: All breeding swine must be tested negative for pseudorabies and swine brucellosis 30 days prior to change of ownership in Texas. 5. Vaccination Requirements: Not required by the TAHC.
	 b. Pseudorabies Test: Unless excepted, breeding swine (sexually intact swine, 6 months of age or older) must have a negative pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to entry or the event. i. Exception: Swine originating from a Pseudorabies qualified herd or Stage IV or V State. 	
5.	Vaccination Requirements:	



Interstate Event	Intrastate Event
(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	(ONLY Texas Animals)
 a. Leptospirosis Vaccine: All breeding swine (sexually intact swine, 6 months of age or older) must have a Leptospirosis vaccination within 30 days prior to entry or the event. The vaccine must contain the following strains: Canicola, Hardjo, Icterohaemorrhagiae, Grippotyphosa, and Pomona. Vaccination status should be recorded on the CVI. 	<i>Swine intrastate event requirements are listed on page 8.</i>



Poultry

Chickens, turkeys, game birds of all ages, and other domestic fowl.

	Interstate Event		Intrastate Event
	(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)		(ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): All poultry must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements.		 Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not required by the TAHC. Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC. Official Identification: Not required by the
2.	Entry Permit: All poultry entering Texas to be exhibited, or exhibited and sold, must have an		TAHC.
	entry permit issued by the TAHC within the previous 15 days. Entry permits for poultry coming may be obtained at any time by calling 512-719-0777, or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777, or by emailing the TAHC at <u>permits@tahc.texas.gov</u> .	4.	Testing Requirements: a. Pullorum-Typhoid (PT) Test: Poultry must originate from flocks or hatcheries free of pullorum disease and fowl typhoid or have a negative PT test within 30 days before exhibition.
3.	Official Identification: Not required by the TAHC.		b. Laryngotracheitis (LT) Test: Poultry must originate from areas where LT has not been active in the past 30 days, and poultry
4.	 Testing Requirements: a. Pullorum-Typhoid (PT) Test: Poultry must originate from flocks or hatcheries free of pullorum disease and fowl typhoid or have a negative PT test within 30 days before exhibition. b. Laryngotracheitis (LT) Test: Poultry must originate from areas where LT has not been active in the past 30 days, and poultry must not have been vaccinated with the modified live chick-embryo origin LT vaccine or the modified live MG-attenuated vaccine. c. Avian Influenza (AI) Test: All poultry must either have a negative flock test or individual bird test for AI within 30 days prior to an event. 		 must not have been vaccinated with the modified live chick-embryo origin LT vaccine or the modified live MG-attenuated vaccine. c. Avian Influenza (AI) Test: Not required by the TAHC.



Exotics

Exotic Livestock: non-indigenous, single-hooved or cloven-hooved animals known as ungulates, including animals from the swine, equine, rhinoceros, elephant, deer and antelope families **Camelidae:** includes camels, llamas and alpacas

Exotic Bovidae: non-indigenous members of the family of animals which includes water buffalo, gnu (wildebeest), addax, antelope, nilgai, and others

Exotic Cervidae: non-indigenous members of the family of animals such as deer, elk, moose, caribou, reindeer and sub-family musk deer

Ratite: includes ostriches, emus and rhea

*Please note, any unlisted exotic livestock participating in an event or exhibition must meet TAHC requirements. Contact the TAHC 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777.

	Interstate Event (Out-of-State & Texas Animals)		Intrastate Event (ONLY Texas Animals)
1.	Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): All exotics must have a valid CVI. CVIs are valid for 30 days. Veterinarians should contact 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 for CVI requirements.	1.	Not required by the TAHC. Entry Permit: Not required by the TAHC.
2.	Entry Permit: All exotics entering Texas must have an entry permit issued by the TAHC within 15 days of entry. Entry permits for exotics coming may be obtained at any time by calling 512-719-0777, or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777, or by emailing the TAHC at permits@tahc.texas.gov.	3.	 Exotic Cervidae: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: Unless exotic cervidae are classified as Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) susceptible species, there are no official identification requirements. b. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Unless exotic cervidae are classified as CWD susceptible species, there are no testing requirements.
3.	 Exotic Cervidae: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: All exotic cervidae must be <u>officially identified</u>. b. <u>Tuberculosis (TB) Test</u>: Unless excepted, two negative tests are required. The TB tests must be conducted more than 90 days apart and the second test must be conducted within 90 days prior to entry and exhibition. i. <u>Exception</u>: Exotic Cervidae originating from a TB Certified Herd. c. <u>Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Susceptible Species</u>: i. Exotic CWD Susceptible Species includes North American elk or wapiti, red deer, 		 c. <u>Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)</u> <u>Susceptible Species</u>: ii. Exotic CWD Susceptible Species includes North American elk or wapiti, red deer, Sika deer, moose, reindeer, and any associated subspecies and hybrids. iii. <u>Official Identification</u>: All exotic CWD susceptible species must be <u>officially</u> <u>identified.</u> iv. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Cervidae must come from a TAHC CWD Certified Herd or come from a premises that tests eligible mortalities for CWD until such



1948 AVINAL IGA	
Interstate Event (Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	Intrastate Event (ONLY Texas Animals)
Sika deer, moose, reindeer, and any associated subspecies and hybrids. i. <u>Entry Permit</u> : All requests for entry must be made in writing and accompanied with the information necessary to support import qualifications of the animal(s). This should be received by the TAHC at least ten working days prior to the proposed entry date.	time that three animals are tested and valid test results are obtained. v. <u>Movement Restrictions</u> : Individuals moving exotic cervidae moving from a CWD Surveillance Zone or Containment Zone must contact the TAHC for more information at 512-719- 0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777.
 ii. <u>Official Identification</u>: All CWD susceptible species must be officially identified with two forms of identification. iii. <u>Movement Restrictions</u>: The owner must provide documentation showing that the animal(s) originate from a herd that has 	 4. Exotic Bovidae: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: Not required by the TAHC. b. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Not required by the TAHC.
 4. Exotic Bovidae: 	 5. Exotic Swine: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: Not required by the TAHC. b. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Not required by the TAHC.
 a. <u>Official Identification</u>: All exotic bovidae must be <u>officially identified</u>. b. <u>Testing Requirements</u>: <u>Brucellosis Test</u>: Exotic bovidae must have a valid negative test within 30 days prior to entry and exhibition. <u>Tuberculosis (TB) Test</u>: Exotic bovidae must have a negative test within 60 days prior to entry and exhibition. 	 6. Camelidae: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: Not required by the TAHC. b. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Not required by the TAHC. 7. Ratites: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: i. <u>Schibilient OMUNE</u> Net required by the termined by the
 5. Exotic Swine: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: All exotic swine must be <u>officially identified</u>. b. <u>Testing Requirements</u>: i. <u>Brucellosis Test</u>: Unless excepted, exotic swine must have a valid negative brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry and exhibition. ii. <u>Pseudorabies Test</u>: Unless excepted, exotic swine must have a negative pseudorabies test within 30 days prior to entry and exhibition. 	 i. <i>Exhibition ONLY</i>. Not required by the TAHC. ii. <i>Sale of Exhibition Animals</i>. All ratites must be <u>officially identified</u>. b. <u>Test Requirements</u>: Not required by the TAHC.



	Interstate Event (Out-of-State & Texas Animals)	Intrastate Event (ONLY Texas Animals)
	 <u>Exception</u>: Unless swine originate from a brucellosis validated free herd or a pseudorabies qualified herd. 	<i>Exotic intrastate event requirements are listed on pages 11-12.</i>
	 Camelidae: a. <u>Official Identification</u>: Not required by the TAHC. b. <u>Testing Requirements</u>: As of November 18, 2020, there are no testing requirements for camelidae. Please contact the TAHC at 512-719-0777 or 1-800-550-8242, ext. 777 to confirm testing requirements. 	
a	 Ratites: Official Identification: All ratites must be officially identified. Testing Requirements: Salmonella Pullorum-Typhoid Test: Ratites must have a negative test within 30 days prior to entry and exhibition. Avian Influenza (AI) Test: Ratites must have a negative test within 30 days prior to entry and originate from flocks that show no evidence of infectious disease and have no history of Al in the past 6 months. 	