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Important: 

• These regulations were valid as of January 1, 2020.

• Check with the TAHC to determine whether amendments or additional
regulations have been adopted since the publication of this document.

• Check in advance with fairs, livestock shows, exhibitions and events to
determine if they have additional health requirements.

• Website: http://www.tahc.texas.gov/regs/entry.html

Texas Animal Health Commission 

TAHC Movement  

Requirements for 

Exhibition Animals 

http://www.tahc.texas.gov/regs/entry.html


TEXAS ANIMAL HEALTH COMMISSION 2 

Definitions 

Interstate Show:  The TAHC considers shows, fairs, or exhibitions to be interstate if they permit livestock 

and poultry from other states to enter for show or exhibition and be held or exhibited in common facilities 

with Texas origin livestock and poultry of the same species. 

Intrastate Show:  The TAHC considers shows, fairs or exhibitions to be intrastate if they allow ONLY Texas 
animals or if they require Texas livestock and poultry of the same species to be housed and exhibited apart 
from livestock and poultry from out of state. 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI):  In the past, these were usually called “health certificates”. This 

document indicates that an accredited veterinarian inspected, tested or immunized the animals in question 

as required by the TAHC. Cattle, sheep, goats, equine, swine, exotic livestock and ratites coming into the 

state or interstate show must be accompanied by a CVI. 
• Poultry may enter into the state or into livestock shows with a certificate of veterinary inspection or

with other documents as described on the “Poultry” page.
• The certificate is valid for 30 days for all species being exhibited, or exhibited and sold.

Entry Permit:  This permit is issued by the TAHC and is needed for certain classes of livestock, poultry, exotic 

livestock and ratites to enter Texas. The permit is valid for 15 days. The entry permit will be recorded as a 

number on the certificate of veterinary inspection. 
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Cattle 
Interstate Show 

(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals) 

General Requirements: 
1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Cattle are

to have a valid certificate of veterinary inspection
that was issued within the past 30 days, if they are to
be exhibited, or originate from the DSA*.

2. Trichomoniasis (Trich) Test for Exhibition ONLY: All
breeding bulls must be officially individually
identified. Out-of-State bulls 12 months of age and
older must be tested within 60 days or be
accompanied by an entry permit.

3. Trichomoniasis Test for Sale after Exhibition: All
breeding bulls must be individually identified. Non-
virgin bulls and virgin bulls 12 months of age and
older must be Trich tested within 60 days prior to
sale.

4. Tuberculosis (TB) Test: All sexually intact dairy cattle,
2 months of age or older, must have a negative TB
test within 60 days prior to entry or originate from an
accredited free herd. Test results or accredited herd
number must be recorded on the certificate of
veterinary inspection.

All sexually intact beef cattle 18 months of age or 
older originating from a less than free state or zone 
status, must have a negative TB test within 60 days 
prior to entry or originate from an accredited free 
herd. Test results or accredited herd number must be 
recorded on the certificate of veterinary inspection. 

EXCEPTION: Cattle coming from a state with less than 
“Free” or “Free Zone” status must contact the TAHC 
at 1-800-550-8242 ext. 777, prior to movement. 

5. Brucellosis Test for Exhibition or Exhibition and Sale:
Cattle from Designated surveillance areas in Idaho,
Montana, Wyoming are required to meet testing
requirements.

General Requirements: 
1. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not

required by the TAHC.

2. Trichomoniasis Test for Exhibition ONLY: Not
required by the TAHC.

3. Trichomoniasis Test for Sale after Exhibition: Non-
virgin bulls and virgin bulls 12 months of age and
older must be Trich tested within 60 days prior to
sale.
EXCEPTION TO TRICH TEST: Breed registered bulls
can be certified as virgin (up to 18 months of age).

4. Tuberculosis (TB) Test: Not required by the TAHC.

5. Brucellosis Test: Not required by the TAHC.
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Equine 
Interstate Show 

(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals)

General Requirements: 
1. No entry permit required.

2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Equine
from out-of-state must have a certificate of
veterinary inspection issued within 30 days of entry
into Texas if they are being exhibited, or exhibited
and sold.

3. Test for Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA): Equine from
out-of-state must have a negative EIA   test within the
past 12 months.

Texas equine must have a negative EIA test within the 
past 12 months. The EIA test document, VS Form 10-
11 is sufficient proof of testing. 

The TAHC accepts all USDA approved methods of 
testing for EIA. One is the Agar Gel Immunodiffusion 
test (AGID), better known as the “Coggins” test. Also 
accepted is the Competitive Enzyme-Linked 
Immunosorbent Assay (CELISA). Test results, date of 
test and name of the laboratory may be recorded on 
the certificate of veterinary inspection. 

EXCEPTION: The TAHC requires the EIA test on all 
equine, except nursing foals, under 8 months of age. 
If a mare and nursing foal are presented together, a 
negative test for the mare is sufficient. 

Equine Passport Exception: 
This document allows equine to travel on a 6-month 
passport (example of documents to follow). An EIA 
test document issued within the past 6 months must 
accompany the passport.  

General Requirements: 
1. No permit required.

2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not
required by the TAHC.

3. Test for Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA): Texas
equine must have a negative EIA test within the past
12 months. The EIA test document, VS Form 10-11 is
sufficient proof of testing.

The TAHC requires the EIA test on all equine, except 
nursing foals, under 8 months of age. If a mare and 
nursing foal are presented together, a negative test 
for the mare is sufficient. 

The TAHC accepts all USDA approved     
methods of testing for EIA. One is the Agar Gel 
Immunodiffusion test (AGID), better known as the 
“Coggins” test. Also accepted is the Competitive 
Enzyme-Linked Immunosorbent Assay (CELISA). Test 
results, date of test and name of the laboratory may 
be recorded on the certificate of veterinary 
inspection. 
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Sheep 
Interstate Show 

(Out-of-State & Texas Animals)

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals)

General Requirements: 
1. No entry permit required.

2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Sheep and 
lambs are to have a valid certificate of veterinary 
inspection issued within 30 days, if they are to be 
exhibited, or exhibited and sold. The certificate must 
also state that an exam of the flock and/or premise 
shows no evidence of exposure to scrapie.

3. Brucella Ovis Test: Breeding rams 6 months of age 
and older and from out-of-state must have a negative 
ELISA test for the disease within 30 days prior to being 
entered in a show, fair or exhibition, or they may 
come from a Brucella Ovis-free flock. The test results 
or herd number must be written on the certificate of 
veterinary inspection.
EXCEPTION: Breeding rams originating in Texas are 
exempt from the Brucella Ovis test requirement if 
they are held separate from out-of-state sheep.

4. Official (Scrapie) Premise Identification: Official 
premise identification is required for sheep to be 
exhibited.

General Requirements: 
1. No permit required.

2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not
required by the TAHC.

3. Brucella Ovis Test: Not required by the TAHC.

4. Official (Scrapie) Premise Identification: All
exhibition sheep must have official identification.
EXCEPTION: Sheep castrated and under 18
months of age are not required to have official
identification.
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Goats 
Interstate Show 

(Out-of-State & Texas Animals) 
Intrastate Show 

(ONLY Texas Animals) 
General Requirements: 
1. No entry permit required. 

 
2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Goats are 

to have a valid certificate of veterinary inspection 
issued within the 30 days, if they are to be exhibited, 
or exhibited and sold.  

 
3. Official (Scrapie) Premise Identification: Official 

premise identification is required for goats to be 
exhibited. The registration tattoo may be used in lieu 
of the eartag if the registration papers accompany the 
animals along with a scrapie premise ID number. 

 
 

General Requirements: 
1. No permit required. 

 
2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not 

required by the TAHC. 
 

3. Official (Scrapie) Premise Identification: All 
exhibition goats must have official identification. 
The registration tattoo may be used in lieu of the 
eartag if the registration papers accompany the 
animals along with a scrapie premise ID number.   
EXCEPTION: Goats castrated and under 18 months 
of age are not required to have official 
identification.  
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Swine 
Interstate Show 

(Out-of-State & Texas Animals) 
Intrastate Show 

(ONLY Texas Animals) 
General Requirements: 
1. No entry permit required. 

 
2. Permanent Identification: Is required.  

 
3. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Swine 

must have a valid certificate of veterinary inspection 
issued within the past 30 days. 

     Certificate must certify that: 
 A.  The swine have not been fed garbage, raw  
       or cooked. 
 B.  Swine have not been vaccinated for  
       pseudorabies. 
 C.  Swine have not been exposed to  
       pseudorabies. 
 D. SECD statement. 

 
4. Breeding Swine: 

• Pseudorabies Test: A test is required for swine 6 
months of age or older within 30 days  

• Brucellosis Test: A test is required for swine 6 
months of age or older within 30 days  

• Leptospirosis Vaccination: Breeding swine 6 
months of age or older are to be vaccinated 
against “lepto” within the past 30 days with the 
“lepto” vaccine containing these strains: 
Canicola, Hardjo, Icterohaemorrhagiae, 
Grippotyphosa and Pomona. 

 
Vaccination status should be recorded on the 
certificate of veterinary inspection.  

 
5. Feeder Swine: 

• Pseudorabies Test: No test is required. All States 
are Stage V (Free) 

• Brucellosis Test: No test is required. All States are 
Free. 

• Leptospirosis Vaccination: No vaccination is 
required. 

 

General Requirements: 
1. No permit required. 
 
2. Permanent Identification: Is required.  
 
3. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: Not required 

by the TAHC. 
 

4. Tests and Vaccinations: All breeding swine shall 
be tested negative for Pseudorabies and Swine 
Brucellosis within 30 days prior to change of 
ownership in Texas. Swine from herds with a 
current disease-free status are exempt from this 
test requirement 
 

5. Terminal Shows: Texas swine in terminal shows 
are exempt from all testing and vaccination 
requirements. All swine from these shows must 
go directly to slaughter. 
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Poultry 

Interstate Show 
(Out-of-State & Texas Animals) 

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals) 

General Requirements: 
1. Entry Permit: Poultry entering Texas to be exhibited, 

or exhibited and sold, must have an entry permit 
issued by the TAHC within the previous 15 days. 

 
2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Poultry 

must have a valid certificate of veterinary   inspection 
issued within the past 30 days if they are to be 
exhibited, or exhibited and sold. 

      
3. Pullorum-Typhoid (PT) Test: Poultry must have a 

negative pullorum-typhoid test within 30 days or 
originate from a flock that meets either the Texas 
Pullorum-Typhoid Program or the National Poultry 
Improvement Plan, prior to being shipped. Test 
results or flock number must be recorded on the 
certificate of veterinary inspection. 

 
4. Laryngotracheitis (LT): Poultry must originate from 

areas where Laryngotracheitis has not been active in 
the past 30 days, and poultry must not have been 
vaccinated with the modified live chick-embryo origin 
LT vaccine and no modified live MG-attentuated 
vaccine. 

 
5. Avian Influenza (AI): Poultry must have either a 

negative flock or individual bird test for avian 
influenza within 30 days prior to entry. 

 

General Requirements: 
1. Permit: Not required by the TAHC. (ONLY Texas-

origin poultry are accepted at intrastate shows.) 
 
2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not 

required by the TAHC. 
 
3. Pullorum-Typhoid (PT) Test: Same as for 

interstate shows. 
 
4. Laryngotracheitis (LT): Same as for interstate 

shows. 
 
5. Avian Influenza (AI) Test: Not required by the 

TAHC 
 
6. Terminal Shows: Must be accompanied by a 

certificate of source which identifies the flock of 
origin. All poultry from these shows must go 
directly to slaughter. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



TEXAS ANIMAL HEALTH COMMISSION 9 

 
 

Exotics 

Definitions 

• Camelidae:  includes camels, llamas and alpacas. 

• Exotic Bovidae:  non-indigenous members of the family of animals which includes water buffalo, gnu 
(wildebeast), addax, antelope, nilgai, and others 

• Exotic Cervidae:  non-indigenous members of the family of animals such as deer, elk, moose, caribou, 
reindeer and sub-family musk deer. 

• Ratite:  includes ostriches, emus and rhea. 

• Exotic Livestock:  non-indigenous, single-hooved or cloven-hooved animals known as ungulates, 
including animals from the swine, equine, rhinoceros, elephant, deer and antelope families 

 

Interstate Show 
(Out-of-State & Texas Animals) 

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals) 

General Requirements: 
1. Entry Permit: Exotics from the definitions above, 

must have an entry permit issued by the TAHC within 
15 days before entering Texas for exhibition and sale. 
 

2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Exotics 
from the definitions above must have a valid 
certificate of veterinary inspection issued within the 
past 30 days for exhibition, or exhibition and sale. 
 

3. Cervidae: More stringent entry requirements have 
been developed and adopted for species susceptible 
to chronic wasting disease (CWD). These include 
black-tailed deer, reindeer, elk, elk hybrids, red deer 
and Sika deer. Contact the TAHC Central Office at 1-
800-550-8242 for specific requirements. 
 
White-tailed deer and mule deer are not considered 
to be exotic to Texas. White-tailed deer and mule 
deer are prohibited from entry into Texas at this time 
by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD). 
 

4. Exotic Bovidae: Exotic bovidae must have a negative 
test for brucellosis within the past 30 days and a 
negative TB test within 60 days prior to exhibition. 
 

5. Camelidae: No test required by the TAHC. 
 

6. Exotic Cervidae: See TB test requirement: 
 
 
List continued on next page. 

General Requirements: 
1. Permit: Not required by the TAHC. No out-of-state 

exotic livestock are accepted at intrastate shows. 
 
2. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI): Not 

required by the TAHC.  
 
3. Exotic Swine Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Test: 

Not required by the TAHC.  
 
4. Ratites - Veterinary Responsibility: The 

veterinarian must also declare the ratite is free of 
external parasites and has no clinical evidence of 
contagious or communicable diseases, and to the 
veterinarian’s knowledge, have not been exposed 
to a contagious or communicable disease. 

 
5. Tuberculosis (TB) Test: Texas origin and out-of-

state cervidae are dependent on the type of herd 
from which the cervidae originated. 

 
Cervidae entering require two tuberculosis tests 
which were conducted no less than 90 days apart; 
the second test was conducted within 90 days 
prior to date of movement; and that the animals 
were isolated from all other members of the herd 
during the testing period; or,  

• Originate from an accredited free herd; 
or;  

 
 
List continued on next page. 
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Exotics cont. 

Interstate Show 
(Out-of-State & Texas Animals) 

Intrastate Show 
(ONLY Texas Animals) 

7. Exotic Swine: Exotic swine must have a negative test 
for swine brucellosis and swine pseudorabies within 
30 days prior to entry or originate from a validated 
and qualified herd. 

 
8. Ratites: Each ratite (bird) must be individually 

identified with a Radio Frequency Identification 
(RFID), permanently attached tag or an implanted 
electronic device. Information regarding the 
microchip number, brand name and location where 
it is implanted in the bird must be recorded on the 
certificate of veterinary inspection. 
• Ratites must have a negative Salmonella 

pullorum-typhoid test within 30 days prior to 
entry. 

• Ratites must have a negative Avian Influenza (AI) 
test within 30 days prior entry and originate 
from flocks that show no evidence of infectious 
disease and have no history of AI in the past 6 
months. 
 

• Originate from a qualified herd and have a 
classified negative 90-day tuberculosis test. If 
the qualifying herd test was administered 
within 90 days of movement, the animal(s) do 
not require an additional test; or;  

• Originate from a monitored herd and have a 
classified negative 90-day tuberculosis test; 
or;  

• Be less than 12 months of age, originate and 
were born in accredited, qualified, or 
monitored herds and have not been exposed 
to cervids from a lower status. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 


