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Protocol for Brucellosis Adult Vaccination of Beef and Dairy Females with RB-51 Vaccine 

Official Texas adult vaccinates shall be female cattle vaccinated against brucellosis with  
RB-51 vaccine when aged more than 12 months 

1. Vaccination shall be performed by a Texas licensed and accredited veterinarian or a state or federal 
animal health official. 

2. A blood sample shall be collected at the time of vaccination or within 10 days prior to vaccination and 
submitted to a TAHC laboratory or other official laboratory for brucellosis testing. Blood samples should 
be submitted with a completed Brucellosis Test Record with official ID listed for each animal tested. 

3. Adult vaccination dosage shall be 1 cc (cubic centimeter) of normally reconstituted RB-51 brucellosis 
vaccine administered subcutaneously. 

4. An official USDA silver steel ear tag or official electronic ear tag approved by the TAHC shall be applied 
to the right ear of the vaccinated cow. If the animal is already identified with official ID then this should 
be recorded on the vaccination record and the animal should not be retagged. DO NOT USE THE 
ORANGE OFFICIAL CALFHOOD VACCINATION TAG IN ADULT VACCINATED COWS. 

5. An official brucellosis tattoo shall be applied to the right ear of the vaccinated cow. The tattoo shall be 
the letters “RAV” followed by the last digit of the year in which the vaccination was done. Example of 
the tattoo is RAV1 for an adult vaccinated in 2011. 

6. The veterinarian shall submit a completed Brucellosis Vaccination Record (VS form 4-24) to their 
Regional TAHC office within 15 days of the date of vaccination. 

Veterinarians are not required to call the TAHC to get permission to brucellosis adult vaccinate when 
following this protocol but are encouraged to contact a TAHC Regional office if they have questions. 
 
Veterinarians are reminded that all states may not accept adult vaccinated cattle or may have 
different requirements for adult vaccination. Some states require a 2 cc dose (full calf-hood dose) of 
RB-51 for adult vaccination. Call your TAHC Regional office if the 2cc dose is required by the importing 
state. As with other health requirements, cattle being shipped must meet the importing states 
requirements concerning brucellosis adult vaccination. 

The RB-51 brucellosis vaccine when used in pregnant cows can result in abortion in some cases. The 
veterinarian should discuss this with their client prior to vaccination to determine the cost/benefit of 
adult vaccination. RB-51 vaccine has a 21 day withdrawal period. 
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