L HEALTE
St &

Z

A
%
=)
Z
Il
S
S
S

«.\K\‘“% * TEy, s,

5
Q

> &
s N>

Why does the Texas Animal Health Commission
care about feral swine?

The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) is
concerned feral swine carry diseases that pose a threat
to domestic swine, cattle, humans, and other species.
Historical test data indicates that about 10 percent
of feral swine are infected with Swine Brucellosis, a
disease that affects cattle and occasionally humans.
Approximately 20 percent of feral swine may be infected
with Pseudorabies (PRV) unrelated to rabies, but causes
illness in hogs and affect market ability of domestic
swine.

In 2007, the 80th Texas Legislature provided that the
TAHC regulate the movement of live feral swine as a
measure to control the spread of disease. The TAHC
subsequently passed rules that allow feral swine to be
captured and sold for slaughter, while still protecting
domestic swine and other livestock from the disease
risks posed by these animals. TAHC rules also allow
wild boars and barrows (castrated males) to be moved
to TAHC pre-approved hunting preserves for hunting
purposes. Female swine (sows and gilts) are not allowed
to be moved to hunting preserves. Feral swine can not
legally be sold through a livestock market.

Texas has approximately three million feral swine
and the largest population of feral swine of any state
in the U.S. This poses an ongoing threat to domestic
swine across the state. Although there are provisions
for “domesticating” feral swine for production by
quarantine and testing after capture, this practice is not
encouraged.

. Feral Swine Regulations

Does the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
(TPWD) regulate feral swine hunting?

Yes, the TPWD regulates the hunting of feral swine and
the TAHC regulates the movement of live feral swine.
Sport hunters must have a hunting lease license issued
by TPWD to hunt wild hogs. The TPWD requires the
registration of land where persons pay to hunt feral
swine. Wild boars captured alive and moved under
TAHC authority can only go to a hunting facility that is
also permitted by TPWD. If a hunting ranch does NOT
receive or release live wild hogs onto the property, the
TAHC feral swine regulations do not apply to the hunting
operation.

When do the TAHC regulations apply?

The TAHC's regulations apply when LIVE feral swine are
to be moved from the premises where they were trapped
or captured. While awaiting transport to slaughter or a
holding facility, the feral swine may be held in escape
proof pens on the premise of origin, or when an escape-
proof cage on the vehicle or trailer that transported
them from their original premise, or held within the
transport trailer itself for as long as 7 days.

Approved Holding Facilities

Feral swine may be moved direct to slaughter or to
an approved holding facility. TAHC approved holding
facilities must have one good fence and are intended
to temporarily hold feral swine until animals can be
assembled for shipping to slaughter. Holding facilities
must be constructed at least 200 yards from domestic
swine pens, and be inspected by the TAHC.

| i I
, |
]

Continued on next page



Allowingferal swineto escape fromanapproved holding
facility, or the failure to maintain records, can lead to
a penalty for violation of the rule and suspension or
revocation of the approved holding facility status.

There are over 100 feral swine facilities approved in
Texas. To determine the location of the nearest facility,
or to apply to become a TAHC approved facility; contact
the closest TAC region office or the TAHC headquarters
at 1-800-550-8242. There is no fee for applying to
become a facility owner or operator.

Hunting Preserves

Only boars and barrows may be moved to a hunting
preserve. Prior to being released, swine must have
individual identification approved by the TAHC. Feral
swine being hauled to slaughter from the holding
facility do NOT need to be individually identified.

As with the holding facility hunting preserve fences
must be kept in good repair to prevent the escape
of feral swine. A hunting preserve may lose its TAHC
authorization if escaped wild swine are detected
outside the preserve fences.

Authorized hunting preserves must be approved
and inspected by TAHC personnel prior to approval.
Applications may be obtained by contacting the
nearest TAHC office. A map and contact information
of statewide TAHC offices can be found on the agency
website at http://www.tahc.texas.gov/agenc
contact.html.

A current copy of the TPWD hunting lease license will
also be required for TAHC approval.

Record Keeping

Records must be maintained which include the date
and number of feral swine being placed into and/or
removed from a holding facility or hunting preserve.
The description of the animals, any identification
devices and where the animals were trapped must
also be recorded. Those records are to be kept by the
facility operator and made available upon request for
inspection by TAHC personnel.

Requirements for Feeding Feral Swine

Feral swine are to only be fed until transportation
is arranged for delivery to slaughter or a holding
facility, or for fattening on the premise of origin for
personal consumption. To prevent potential disease
transmission, practice good biosecurity.

Is there a penalty for disregarding the feral swine
regulations?

The TAHC makes every attempt to obtain compliance
by providing information and sound reasoning for
protecting livestock herds. However, the rules include
both criminal and administrative penalties, which may
be imposed for violations. The text of the TAHC website

at www.tahc.texas.gov.

The TAHC feral swine regulations are based on
Sections 161.0412 and 161.1375 of the Texas
Agriculture Code. Noncompliance with the movement
requirements is a Class C misdemeanor and repeat
offenses are a Class B misdemeanor. Alternatively,
the TAHC may also address noncompliance through
an administrative hearing process.

Information provided by the
Texas Animal Health Commission
P.O. Box 12966 - Austin, TX 78711-2966
www.tahc.texas.gov
800-550-8242
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