Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)

What is CWD?
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a transmissible spongiform encephalopathy (TSE) affecting farmed and free-ranging deer, elk, and moose, in North America.
CWD is a progressive, fatal, degenerative neurological disease. It was first recognized in 1967 as a clinical ‘wasting’ syndrome of un- known cause in captive mule deer in Colorado. CWD belongs to the family of diseases known as transmissible spongiform encephalop- athies (TSEs). TSEs include a number of different diseases affecting animals or humans including bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) in cattle, scrapie in sheep and goats, and Creutzfeldt-Jacob disease (CJD) in humans. Although CWD shares certain features with other TSEs, it is a distinct disease affecting only deer, elk, and moose.

TAHC CWD Herd Programs

The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) provides a voluntary herd status program for species that are susceptible to CWD. Those that participate in the program must have a herd inventory performed annually by a TAHC, USDA, or accredited veterinarian.

For more information about the CWD herd program, call your TAHC region office or 800-550-8242 x777.

Chronic Wasting Disease Inspection FeeWhat you need to know

Texas dot govNEWS: 7/7 — The TAHC NOW offers a New Convenient Way to Pay CWD Fee(s). You can now pay your Chronic Wasting Disease fees by credit card online at:

USDA CWD Herd Programs

  • USDA CWD Herd Certification Program Factsheet
  • USDA CWD Program Questions and Answers
  • Rules and Regulations

    Movement Requirements

    Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) Mandatory CWD Testing Requirements and Check Stations

    TAHC Chronic Wasting Disease Zones

    TAHC Information Resources

    Informational Websites